Derek Brockway: Understanding why my dad died – BBC News

Before February 2015, I’d never heard of the word “sepsis”.When the doctors told us my dad had the condition, I had no idea what it was and I had to Google it.I learned that it is blood poisoning, a response to infection when the body attacks its own organs and tissues.Just a few weeks later, I learned even more. That it would be the death of my father.In addition to my day job forecasting the weather for Wales Today, for the past few weeks I’ve been working with BBC Wales’ Week In Week Out programme to take a more in-depth look at sepsis – at both the devastation it can wreak on all our lives and whether our hospitals are geared up to spot it and tackle it in time.What I have discovered has shocked me.Sepsis kills 44,000 people every year in the UK – that’s more than breast, bowel and prostate cancer put together – enough people to fill a big football stadium.

Source: Derek Brockway: Understanding why my dad died – BBC News

Leave a Reply

