Fiona Gray – Sepsis Alliance

Fiona GraySurvivor

I gave birth to our daughter in Sept 2014. Apart from the usual challenges of a new baby, everything was going well. Our little family was living life to the fullest and life was good. Then, 10 months later in July 2015 our world turned upside down.I’d been suffering a recurring sore throat for months. I thought I was just run down being a new mum and didn’t think much of it. Little did I know, a storm was brewing inside me.In the early hours of 12 July 2015, I was settling my daughter after she’d woken. As I left her room I banged my elbow quite hard but gave it a rub and went back to bed. An hour or so later I awoke to golf ball size swelling on my elbow and extreme pain. Within two hours I was shivering uncontrollably and rocking back and forth screaming for my husband to take me to hospital.I spent 12 hours in the emergency with staff checking me for a dislocated elbow and various other ideas. No one knew what was wrong. My heart rate kept increasing and my blood pressure was dropping. Mid-afternoon an orthopaedic surgeon drew some fluid from my elbow and decided it was bursitis, and to admit me for surgery the following day as he thought there might be an infection present.

Source: Fiona Gray – Sepsis Alliance

Leave a Reply

