10 Practical Ways to Support Someone Struggling Right Now

When our loved ones are struggling, we tend to tell them that we’re there for them: “Let me know what you need.”And that’s good and helpful. When you’re in a difficult position – for example, if you’re grieving, approaching a traumaversary, in a very depressed or anxious state, or dealing with a breakup – simply hearing those words can make you feel recognized, loved, and supported.But often, we need something more than that.Sometimes, we need tangible forms of support. We don’t just need to talk it out – we need someone to help us manage our responsibilities.When I had a really bad bout of depression last year, I noticed how often folks said they’re there for me. People often asked me how they could help and what I needed.And while I really appreciated that, I didn’t know how to answer that question. I wasn’t coping, but I couldn’t explain exactly what would help me cope. I didn’t want to talk about it, but I felt like that was the only way I could let my friends support me.

Source: 10 Practical Ways to Support Someone Struggling Right Now

Leave a Reply

