FINALLY – A SUNSET IN BELLINGEN

Don’t force solutions.

I suppose you can guess where I spent the day – most of it – IN BED. No matter. I also had a visitor in Big J from Valla and my Girls. I also went for an after school visit at R.G. and then for a drive around. At last I caught a sunset. How I miss them here. But I got this one.

My thinking is a little muddled again and I have some bruising. Guess I am just plain getting used to it.

I don’t force solutions.

These damn tunnel periods. PLOD. PLOD. PLOD. No soaring spirits. No delight in standing outside the front door of my home. No days filled with delight.

PLOD. PLOD. PLOD.

Pretty good compared to many of the days in the past 2 1/2 years.

PLOD PLOD PLOD

I am carefully choosing where I walk. Reduce the PLOD effect.  Damn near ran Clarz down on the Pony today. No PUSING , Girl. NO PUSHING.

Just PLOD ON. PLOD ON. PLOD ON.

Watch corny TV. Fiddle with photos. Chat on Facebook. Read Harry Bosch and refrain from deep thought.

PLOD ON.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Walk in Dry Places
May 16
Trees Don’t grow to the sky
Progress

Release from a compulsion can be a dramatic experience. It maqy also mean immediate relase from vexing problems caused by the compulsion. This time can bring such a sense of well-being that it’s sometimes called the HONEYMOON or CLOUD NINE period.

In any growth process, however, we must remember that a law of diminishing returns sets in. This is expressed in the saying that trees don’t grow to the sky. At some point, we will discover that our joyous feeling of pleasure has cooled down to an ordinary state of feeling well, that we are not becoming increasingly joyous by the day.

There’s nothing wrong with such a mental plateau. If we’re practicing the Twelve Step program, we’re still moving forward, onward, and upward. Diminishing returns must still be counted as returns.

I’ll accept today’s progress with gratitude and humility. I won’t expect more than a reasonable feeling of well-being and contentment, but that is considerable.

Leave a Reply

